9 July 2007

Cheltenham Music Festival

Monday 9 July 2007 19:00-20:45 (Radio 3)

Petroc Trelawny introduces the glittering opening night of the 2007 Cheltenham Music Festival, which features key works by four of America’s greatest composers, from the energy of Gershwin and Bernstein to the nostalgic lyricism of Samuel Barber.


1 hour 45 minutes


Chloe Hanslip (violin)
Joan Rodgers (soprano)
BBC Concert Orchestra
Rumon Gamba (conductor)

Copland: Fanfare for the Common Man
Bernstein: Overture (West Side Story)
Barber: Violin Concerto, Op 14
Barber: Knoxville, Summer of 1915
Gershwin, arr. Robert Russell Bennett: Porgy and Bess, A Symphonic Portrait

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s