The Rivals by Richard Brinsley Sheridan

 

My girlfriend took me to see this yesterday (she is a star at trying to keep my spirits up), it was very good, unsure how much of the play had been updated for the current use of language but must admit the plot reminded me of a few works by Oscar Wilde, but then I noticed that when watching the Marriage Of Figaro, perhaps only so many stories exist or writers are often re-writing a past work for the current generation, in the hope that a past success will produce a current one.

We can see this is still a current concept with all the re-workings of pride and prejudice.

I even think I once found  very old books called ‘the consolations of philosophy’ and ‘the art of travel’ when searching a library catalogue once, mmm, you can learn a lot from Alain de Botton eh eh

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

